Session Rules (Auswahl)

• The fact that you are holding a musical instrument in your hands at a session does not automatically entitle you to play.
    Barry Foy, Field Guide to the Irish Music Session

The bodhrán player must not only be competent technically, but must also understand the music he is accompanying. To know the tune itself is an advantage, as also is a knowledge of the tune-player's style (Â…). Sensitivity of a social as well as of a purely musical kind is demanded of the player today. Playing with friends at a private session is probably the best situation for 'letting go'. In a more public session, however, (Â…) playing 'out of turn' is an insensivity of the highest order.
    Mícheál O Súilleabháin, The Bodhrán. An easy to learn method for the complete beginner

Why some people go to an Irish session in a pub with a new bodhrán (Â…) and then just bang away is beyond me. Music snobs (Â…) do not consider bodhrán players to be real musicians, so prove them wrong.
    Steáfán Hannigan, The Bodhrán book

When you do venture out with your drum, go with the intention of learning!
    Malachy Kearns, Secrets of the Bodhrán and how to play it

Familiarise yourself as thoroughly as possible with the music before approaching within smelling distance of a goat-skin.
    Ciaran Carson, Irish Traditional Music

If a second bodhrán player is present, it is usually a good idea for one player to take a break, rather than have both bodhráns play together.
    Gearóid O hAllmhuráin, Pocket History of Irish Traditional Music

Never start a tune yourself or batter away needlessly between tunes.
    In in doubt, don't play.
    If you go wrong, there's a good chance that you'll confuse the other musicians as well.
    The good ones can really listen!
    Conor Long, Absolute beginner's Bodhrán tutor

If you can't play a fiddle you can't play, but anyone can beat with enthusiasm and little skill on a drum to their own satisfaction, but to the annoyance of others.